Ends in

Get up to $10 DISCOUNT on our AWS Solutions Architect Associate Reviewers!

Azure Cloud Service Models

  • The three cloud computing service models are IaaS, PaaS, and SaaS.
  • You can also use serverless computing to eliminate the need to manage infrastructure.
  • The shared responsibility model determines the security tasks that are handled by the cloud provider and handled by the customer.
    • Azure is responsible for protecting the infrastructure such as hosts, network, and data center.
    • The customer is responsible for protecting their data, endpoints, account, and access management.
  • IaaS, PaaS, and SaaS have different levels of managed services:

azure cloud service models

Infrastructure as a service (IaaS)

Tutorials dojo strip
  • Most user management
  • You are responsible for managing the operating systems, data, and applications.
  • IaaS helps you to extend resources rapidly to meet the spikes required for your application.
  • Used in the following scenarios:
    • Migrating workloads – move existing applications to the cloud.
    • Test and development – quickly set up and dismantle test and development environments. IaaS makes scaling development and testing environments, fast and economical.
    • Storage, backup, and recovery – simplify the planning and management of backup and recovery systems.
    • Website hosting – less expensive than traditional web hosting.
    • High-performance computing (HPC) – clusters of computers that help solve complex problems involving millions of variables or calculations.
    • Big data analysis – for massive data sets that require a huge amount of processing power.

Platform as a service (PaaS)

  • Less user management
  • The operating systems are managed by the cloud provider, while the user is responsible for the applications and data they run and store.
  • PaaS offers all the functionality you need to support the entire lifecycle of web applications: building, testing the application, deploying the source code, managing, and updating within the same integrated environment.
  • Used in the following scenarios:
    • Development framework a framework for creating or customizing cloud-based applications.
    • Analytics or business intelligence – find insights and patterns, and predict outcomes to improve business decisions.

Software as a service (SaaS)

  • Least amount of management
  • The cloud provider is responsible for managing everything, and the end-user just uses the software.

Serverless Computing

  • Function as a Service (FaaS)
  • You simply deploy the code with a serverless platform, and it runs at high availability.
  • Dynamically scales up and down to meet the demands of each workload within seconds.
  • A pay-per-execution model that charges sub-second billing only for the time and resources required to execute the code.

Validate Your Knowledge

Question 1

Question Type: Multiple-choice

In the Azure Shared Responsibility Model, whose responsibility is it to patch the operating system of an Azure App Service?

  1. Azure
  2. Customer
  3. Both Azure and the customer
  4. Neither Azure nor the customer

Correct Answer: 1

As you consider and evaluate public cloud services, it’s critical to understand the shared responsibility model and which security tasks are handled by the cloud provider, and which tasks are handled by you. The workload responsibilities vary depending on whether the workload is hosted on Software as a Service (SaaS), Platform as a Service (PaaS), Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS), or in an on-premises datacenter

In an on-premises datacenter, you own the whole stack. As you move to the cloud some responsibilities transfer to Microsoft. The following diagram illustrates the areas of responsibility between you and Microsoft, according to the type of deployment of your stack.

For all cloud deployment types, you own your data and identities. You are responsible for protecting the security of your data and identities, on-premises resources, and the cloud components you control (which varies by service type).

Regardless of the type of deployment, the following responsibilities are always retained by you:

– Data

– Endpoint

– Account

– Access management

Platform-as-a-Service(PaaS) is a managed hosting environment. The cloud provider manages the virtual machines and networking resources, and the cloud tenant deploys their applications into the managed hosting environment. For example, Azure App Services provides a managed hosting environment where developers can upload their web applications, without having to worry about managing the underlying Virtual Machines and other resources with the latest security updates and OS patches

Azure manages OS patching on two levels, the physical servers and the guest virtual machines (VMs) that run the App Service resources. Both are updated monthly, which aligns with the monthly Patch Tuesday schedule. These updates are applied automatically, in a way that guarantees the high-availability SLA of Azure services.

Hence, the correct answer is Azure.

Customer and Both Azure and the customer is incorrect because Azure is responsible for the OS patches of the underlying virtual machine of an App Service. Take note that if you are using Infrastructure-as-a-Service such as Azure Virtual machines, the responsibilities of patching the guest operating system maintenance is up to you as the cloud tenant.

Neither Azure nor the customer is incorrect as this task falls under the responsibilities of Azure.


Note: This question was extracted from our AZ-900 Microsoft Azure Fundamentals Practice Exams.

For more Azure practice exam questions with detailed explanations, check out the Tutorials Dojo Portal:

Microsoft Azure Practice Exams Tutorials Dojo


Tutorials Dojo portal

FREE AWS Exam Readiness Digital Courses

Enroll Now – Our Azure Certification Exam Reviewers

azure reviewers tutorials dojo

Enroll Now – Our Google Cloud Certification Exam Reviewers

Tutorials Dojo Exam Study Guide eBooks

tutorials dojo study guide eBook

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel

Tutorials Dojo YouTube Channel

FREE Intro to Cloud Computing for Beginners

FREE AWS, Azure, GCP Practice Test Samplers

Browse Other Courses

Generic Category (English)300x250

Recent Posts

AWS, Azure, and GCP Certifications are consistently among the top-paying IT certifications in the world, considering that most companies have now shifted to the cloud. Earn over $150,000 per year with an AWS, Azure, or GCP certification!

Follow us on LinkedIn, YouTube, Facebook, or join our Slack study group. More importantly, answer as many practice exams as you can to help increase your chances of passing your certification exams on your first try!

View Our AWS, Azure, and GCP Exam Reviewers Check out our FREE courses

Our Community

passing rate
Around 95-98% of our students pass the AWS Certification exams after training with our courses.
Over 200k enrollees choose Tutorials Dojo in preparing for their AWS Certification exams.
Our courses are highly rated by our enrollees from all over the world.

What our students say about us?